Certification Information & Updates

Latest News & Updates:

SHRM Recertification Updates

 See sample practice questions for the SHRM-CP exam!

SHRM 2019 Spring Exam Window: May 1 - July 15, 2019

January 2 March 22 April 12

SHRM 2019 Winter Exam Window: Dec. 1 - February 15, 2020

May 13 October 18 November 9


SHRM Certification Information:

SHRM has established two competency-based certifications, the SHRM Certified Professional (SHRM-CP®) for early- and mid-career professionals and the SHRM Senior Certified Professional (SHRM-SCP®) for senior-level practitioners.

The SHRM Body of Competency and Knowledge (SHRM BoCK™) is the foundation for these certifications. The SHRM BoCK—the product of rigorous research involving thousands of HR professionals organizes eight behavioral competencies into three clusters: Leadership (Leadership & Navigation, Ethical Practice), Interpersonal (Relationship Management, Communication, Global & Cultural Effectiveness), and Business (Business Acumen, Consultation, Critical Evaluation). Additionally there are 15 HR knowledge areas that are critical to the success of any HR professional.

To determine which certification is best for you, click here

To apply for the SHRM-CP or SHRM-SCP exam, visit https://portal.shrm.org to begin the application process.  SHRM does have specific testing windows for both the SHRM-CP and SHRM-SCP.  Visit the SHRM Certification website for the most up to date information.

SHRM Foundation:

SHRM offers certification scholarships awarded by the SHRM Foundation.  To be eligible, you must be a current SHRM member (Professional or student membership must be active when applying and throughout the year in which you receive the award); meet eligibility requirements for SHRM Certification; and have taken the certification exam in the current year or plan to sit for the exam in next 12 months.

The scholarship amount awarded is $750 for SHRM Certification exam and/or preparation for the SHRM-CP or SHRM-SCP, and a total of 220 scholarships are awarded annually.  More information can be found here

SHRM Recertification

Recertification is required by SHRM every 3 years for the SHRM-CP or SHRM-SCP certification.  Professionals have the option of:

  • Earning 60 professional development credits (PDCs) within a 3-year recertification period that ends on the last day of the credential holder’s birth month


  • Retaking the certification exam at the end of the 3-year recertification period.

Complete SHRM certification and recertification information can be found by visiting SHRM’s Certification website: https://www.shrm.org/certification


HRCI Certification Information:

An independent nonprofit organization, the Human Resource Certification Institute, or “HRCI”, is dedicated to advancing the HR profession by developing and administering best-in-class accredited certifications.

Certifications currently offered through HRCI include:

  • Associate Professional in Human Resources™ (aPHR™)
  • Professional in Human Resources® (PHR®)
  • Professional in Human Resources - California® (PHRca®)
  • Senior Professional in Human Resources® (SPHR®)
  • Global Professional in Human Resources® (GPHR®)
  • Professional in Human Resources - International™ (PHRi™)
  • Senior Professional in Human Resources - International Professional™ (SPHRi™)


Through the combination of formal education, adherence to high ethical standards, demonstrated knowledge and achievement through exam and a renewed commitment to continuing professional development, HR professionals certified by the HR Certification Institute enhance their professional credibility and the organizations they serve.

For more information, and to see which HRCI certification would be best for you, click here.

If you already know which certification you are looking to obtain, click here to get started on the application process. 

HRCI does not have any application or test windows. 

HRCI Recertification

After passing an HRCI certification exam, you are required to renew your certification every three years. You can achieve this by completing professional development activities and demonstrating professional achievement to receive recertification credits. This includes reporting qualified HR-related activities, such as seminars, online materials, webinars, books, online courses and conferences. You can even earn credit for professional achievements such as implementing a new program at work, serving as a volunteer HR expert, conducting original HR-related research or maintaining an HR membership. If you wish to do so, you may also choose to retake your HRCI certification exam to recertify.

Full certification and recertification information can be found by visiting HRCI’s website: https://www.hrci.org